I had a test Thursday, so I studied Wednesday to prepare for it. As I was sleeping, however, a mosquito found its way into the room and decided to try and penetrate me. Which was not cool. Because I ended up only getting four hours of sleep, and ended up taking a blanket to the lobby to sleep on the dirty sofas, then called my roomie to open the door cuz I couldn't find my key when I was trying to leave.
The actual tests went well. I'm 90% sure I got at least 90%. My speaking teacher gave me a Snickers bar for my birthday because I told her I was going back to America for my birthday. She is adorable.
When I got back, new roommates moved again. As a list of the roommates Caroline and I have had…
1. Indonesians
2. Kazakhs
3. German/Thais
4. Italians.
Yes, my new roommates were Italian, and why do I say "were?"
Because, I finally moved rooms! About an hour and a half after arriving, I got a call from the front desk saying room had opened up for 2-person room. Upon further inquiry, however, I realized it was not for two people but rather, a 2-person room with one occupant. I had to choose. I decided to check out the digs first. New roomie is Italian, tiny, and hates smoking. Bingo. New roommates were smokers… I smelled it on them. So, I packed up my stuff, said a tearful goodbye to Caroline, put my name on the list again in case space opened up for an actual 2-person room so we could live together (so we could practice our Canto together), and moved in 3 floors down to a room right next to the elevator and kitchen. Too bad the floor is full of white people who only hang out with white people.
Then, I went out with some classmates to "celebrate," and found myself back in my room yet again. It's kind of nice, being normal and quiet. At the same time, I feel so scared that I will not be able to handle it again like I did before. Then again, that made me seek out more people. I should start doing my "talk to one new person a day" goal again.
No comments:
Post a Comment